Sustainability

Climate change is the biggest challenge mankind is currently facing. The whole world agrees by now that we must take urgent action against this man-made phenomenon.

But emissions can only be reduced effectively if all players in the industrialised countries make voluntary, systematic contributions. We are ready to take on responsibility for the world our children and grandchildren will one day inherit from us, and we have acted accordingly.
This has made our company one of the first in our industry to voluntarily offset all its emissions according to the Kyoto Protocol.
After measuring the carbon footprint, the CO2 emissions of Aqua Monaco are first reduced by measures such as the use of green electricity. Subsequently, the emissions are compensated by purchasing UN certificates.
In order to be able to tackle several environmental and social problems at the same time, the Aqua Monaco team has decided on a Gold Standard climate protection project in India. The project enables the operation of a 20MW biomass plant and creates local jobs and education. Above all, the surrounding population, for whom electricity is not a matter of course, should benefit from the power supply.
Biogenic residues, mainly based on used rice husks, are used as a renewable energy source. Since biomass is a CO2-neutral energy source, the production of biogas produces virtually no CO2 emissions. In addition, the provision of electricity from biomass is increasingly displacing electricity from climate-damaging energy sources such as coal-based electricity.

Locally, we support the “München muss handeln” alliance. From day one, the alliance partners have sided with Fridays for Future. They fight for the implementation of concrete climate protection measures in Munich necessary to meet the aims of the Paris Agreement.  

Moreover, we support local cultural, social, and ecological projects through our Good Monaco initiative. Transparency is paramount to us, which is why our monthly donations are always disclosed on our website.

We don’t use plastic bottles: all our products come in reusable glass bottles.

en_USEnglish

Nachhaltigkeit

Der Klimawandel ist aktuell die größte Herausforderung für die Menschheit. Weltweit besteht inzwischen Einigkeit, dass wir diesen menschengemachten Klimawandel dringend begrenzen müssen.

Ein Gelingen der Emissionsminderungen hängt ganz wesentlich von dem freiwilligen und konsequenten Handeln aller Beteiligten in den Industrieländern ab. Wir sind bereit, Verantwortung für die Welt zu übernehmen, die wir unseren Kindern und Enkeln überlassen, und haben entsprechend gehandelt.
Damit war unser Unternehmen eines der ersten in unserer Branche, das seine kompletten Emissionen nach dem Kyoto-Protokoll freiwillig kompensiert hat.
Der CO2-Austoß von Aqua Monaco wird nach der Messung des Carbon Footprints zunächst durch Maßnahmen wie Einsatz von Öko-Strom reduziert. Im Anschluss wird der Ausstoß durch den Kauf von Zertifikaten der UN kompensiert.
Um gleich mehrere ökologische und soziale Missstände gleichzeitig in Angriff nehmen zu können, hat sich das Aqua Monaco Team für ein Gold Standard Klimaschutzprojekt in Indien entschieden. Das Projekt ermöglicht den Betrieb einer 20MW Biomasseanlage und schafft vor Ort Arbeitsplätze und Aufklärung. Profitieren soll von der Stromversorgung vor allem die umliegende Bevölkerung, für die Strom keine selbstverständliche Leistung darstellt.
Als erneuerbare Energiequelle werden biogene Reststoffe, vor allem auf Basis von gebrauchten Reisschalen, verwendet. Da Biomasse ein CO2-neutraler Energieträger ist, entstehen durch die Produktion von Biogas faktisch keine CO2-Emissionen. Zudem wird durch die Bereitstellung von Strom aus Biomasse, Strom aus klimaschädlichen Energieträgern, wie zum Beispiel Kohlestrom, zunehmend verdrängt.

Lokal unterstützen wir das Bündnis ‚München muss handeln‘. Die Bündnispartner stellten sich von Anfang an hinter die Fridays for Future und fordern in München die Umsetzung konkreter Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, die dringend notwendig sind, um die Ziele des Klimaabkommens von Paris zu erreichen. 

Weiter unterstützen wir mit unserer Initiative Good Monaco lokale Projekte aus den Bereichen Kultur, Soziales und Ökologie. Transparenz ist uns hierbei sehr wichtig, daher ist der monatlich gespendete Betrag genau auf unserer Website einzusehen.

Wir verzichten auf Plastikflaschen – alle unsere Produkte werden in Mehrweg-Glasflaschen abgefüllt.

de_DEDeutsch